Now Reading
Dubai’s RTA announces free parking for Hijri New Year

Dubai’s RTA announces free parking for Hijri New Year

The RTA also announced revised timings for public transport during the holiday

Public parking will be free in Dubai during the Hijri New Year holiday, the Roads and Transport Authority (RTA) has announced.

All public paid parking zones will be free of charge on 1 Muharram 1441H, the RTA said. Fees will be reinstated on the following day.

However, multi-level parking terminals will continue to charge fees on the day, it clarified.

The RTA also confirmed that all the service provider centres (vehicle testing) and the RTA’s customers’ happiness centres will be closed for the holiday.

The UAE has declared that Hijri New Year will be observed by both public and private sectors with a one-day holiday. The exact date will be announced following the sighting of the moon, but it is expected to fall on Sunday, September 1.

Read: Islamic New Year holiday for UAE public and private sectors announced

Metro timings

Metro stations on the red line will operate from 5am to 12am (midnight) while stations on the green line will operate from 5.30am to 12am (midnight) during the holiday.


Dubai Tram will operate from Saturday to Thursday from 6am to 1am (of the following day). On Friday, the tram service hours will be from 9am to 1am (of the following day).

Bus timings

During the holiday, the main bus stations, such as Gold Souq, will operate from 4.25am to 12.59 am (past midnight), while Al Ghubaiba station will be in service from 4.26am to 12.43am (past midnight).

Sub-stations, such as Satwa, will operate from 5am to 11pm except for Route C01, which will run around-the-clock.

Al Qusais station will run bus services from 4.34am to 12.08am (past midnight), Al Quoz Industrial station will be in operation from 5.05am to 11.35pm and Jebel Ali station will operate from 5am and until 11.22pm.

Metro feeder bus stations at Al Rashidiya, Mall of the Emirates, Ibn Battuta, Dubai Mall/Burj Khalifa, Abu Hail, and Etisalat will be operational from 5am to 12.10am (of the following day). The timing of the feeder bus service will be synchronised with the timing of the metro timetables.

Inter-city bus stations and commercial coaches will operate as follows: Main stations, such as Al Ghubaiba, will operate around-the-clock to Sharjah (Jubail), and the Abu Dhabi service will run from 4.30am up to 12.01am (past midnight).

Substations, such as Union Square, will be in service from 4.35am up to 1.25am (of the following day).

Al Sabkha station will run from 6.15am until 1.30am (of the following day), and Deira City Centre station will operate from 5.35am until 11.30pm. Karama station will run bus services from 7am until 10.23pm and Stadium station will stay open from 5.55am to 10.15pm.

External stations, such as Sharjah’s Al Taawon, will operate from 5.30am until 10pm, Fujairah station will operate from 5.23am until 9.39pm, Ajman station will stay open from 5.30am until 11pm and Hatta station will be in operation from 5.30am until 9.30pm.

Marine transport timings

The RTA also announced revised timings for marine transit services.

The water bus will operate at Marina stations (Marina Mall, Marina Walk, Marina Terrace, Marina Promenade) from 12pm (noon) up to 12am (midnight).

It will operate from Al Jaddaf station to Dubai Water Canal station at 12.40pm, 3.30pm and 6.15pm. The return service will run at 2.05pm, 4.50pm and 7.40pm.

Meanwhile the Dubai ferry will call at Ghubaiba and Marina stations at 11am, 1pm, 3pm, 5pm and 6.30pm.

At the Sheikh Zayed Roads station (round journey), it will operate from 4pm to 10pm.

The ferry will also operate the recently inaugurated route to the Aquamarine station in Sharjah from 2pm-10pm and at Al Ghubaiba from 3pm until 11pm.


Scroll To Top