UAE allows residents from 13 countries to exchange driving licences

China is among the new additions

Citizens from more than a dozen countries are now able to exchange their home driving licence for one from the UAE, according to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.

A list of 13 new countries was posted on the ministry’s website, including China and the Netherlands.

In order to exchange their licence for a UAE one applicants will need to present a valid driving licence, valid residence visa issued in Dubai, a completed licence form and a no objection letter from their sponsor at a Roads and Transport Authority office.

An optometry form accredited by the health authority in the emirate is also required.

The list:
1. Austria
2. Slovakia
3. Luxembourg
4. China
5. Portugal
6. Finland
7. Romania
8. Denmark
9. Serbia
10. Poland
11. Netherlands
12. Latvia
13. Lithuania

Around 30 countries are already approved for licence exchange including the UK, US, Japan, South Korea, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, the GCC states and most of the European Union.

Residents with licences from other countries must undergo driving tests and classes to obtain a local licence.