Etihad introduces IATA Travel Pass on flights from Abu Dhabi to seven cities
Now Reading
Etihad introduces IATA Travel Pass on flights from Abu Dhabi to seven cities

Etihad introduces IATA Travel Pass on flights from Abu Dhabi to seven cities

It will cover destinations in Europe, North America and Asia

Etihad Airways IATA Travel Pass

Etihad Airways has expanded its IATA Travel Pass on flights between Abu Dhabi and seven destinations across its network.

Serving as a one-stop platform for managing all Covid-19 documentation, it is now available for guests on all Etihad flights between Abu Dhabi and Bangkok, Barcelona, Geneva, Madrid, Milan, New York and Singapore.

In April and May, the airline had trialled the pass on select frights from Abu Dhabi to Chicago, New York, Washington and Toronto.

Read: Etihad begins IATA Travel Pass trials on flights from Abu Dhabi to North America

To access the service, guests need to download the IATA Travel Pass app where they can then add their Etihad Airways travel itinerary, view their travel requirements and securely share their PCR test results.

The app also includes functionality to upload vaccination certificates, which is a useful option for countries where vaccination is a pre-requisite.

Currently the app is able to accept EU Digital Covid Certificates issued by all 27 member states of the European Union plus Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, and Lichtenstein as well as vaccine certificates from Singapore and Qatar.

Etihad said that it is continuing to work closely with IATA to roll out the digital travel pass to more cities across its route network.

“The feedback from the IATA Travel Pass trial has been positive, with Etihad’s guests appreciating its ease-of-use and data security,” said Mohammad Al Bulooki, chief operating officer at Etihad Aviation Group.

Nick Careen, IATA’s senior vice president for operations, safety and security, added: “IATA Travel pass was designed to provide a one-stop-shop solution for travellers to safely and efficiently manage their COVID-19 documentation and generate an ‘OK to Travel’ which airlines can trust.”

Dubai’s Emirates airline has meanwhile expanded the IATA Travel Pass facility to customers flying between a total of 10 destinations across its network. Emirates customers flying between Dubai and select cities, including London, Barcelona, Madrid, Istanbul, New York (JFK), Moscow, Frankfurt, Paris (Charles De Gaulle), and Amsterdam, can now use IATA Travel Pass. Emirates has said that it plans to roll-out the solution across its global network in the coming weeks.

Read: Dubai’s Emirates expands IATA Travel Pass, partners with Alhosn app

You might also like


Scroll To Top