Abu Dhabi updates entry guidelines for visitors, international tourists
Now Reading
Abu Dhabi updates entry guidelines for visitors, international tourists

Abu Dhabi updates entry guidelines for visitors, international tourists

The emirate has said Covid-19 testing centres located at entry points will now be closed


Abu Dhabi is set to welcome international tourists from December 24, 2020, the Abu Dhabi Crisis, Emergencies and Disasters Committee has announced.

The committee has approved increasing the operational capacity of economic, tourism and entertainment activities to optimal levels in accordance with the approved precautionary measures. These include shopping and entertainment centres, restaurants and nurseries.

The committee has also extended the validity of a negative PCR or DPI test result used to enter the emirate from 48 to 72 hours, and replaced the tests done on days four and eight from entry with a test to be conducted on day six from entering the emirate for those staying six or more consecutive days.

Also, participants in the National Vaccination Programme and Phase III of the vaccine clinical trials who have active icons on Alhosn app (golden star or letter E), are exempted from quarantine requirements when returning from abroad or when in contact.

Read: Abu Dhabi scraps Covid-19 entry test for vaccine volunteers

The committee also approved periodic screening programmes for the residents of industrial zones and communities with high population density and the employees of commercial activities in the Abu Dhabi emirate.

It also approved increasing the capacity of the SEHA testing centres located outside of the emirate and closing testing centres at entry points.

International tourists:

Before departure: Travellers must present a negative PCR test 96 hours before their scheduled departure.

Upon arrival: Take a second PCR test upon landing.

Self-isolation: Inbound travellers from the following ‘green’ countries are exempted from quarantine in Abu Dhabi, and must self-isolate only until they receive a negative test result.

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam

Meanwhile, quarantine period for travellers coming from other countries has been reduced to 10 days. All travellers will need to undertake a PCR test on day six if they are staying six or more consecutive days, as well as on day 12 if they are staying 12 or more consecutive days.

A review of country classifications will be conducted every two weeks.

As per international precautionary measures, the committee also approved reducing the quarantine period for those who have been in contact with a positive case to 10 days, provided a PCR test is taken on day eight with a negative result.

The committee urged the public to follow preventive and precautionary measures to protect and maintain public health.


You might also like


Scroll To Top