Now Reading
Mandatory quarantine for passengers arriving in India from UAE, Oman, Kuwait, Qatar

Mandatory quarantine for passengers arriving in India from UAE, Oman, Kuwait, Qatar

The measures will be in force until March 31 and will be reviewed subsequently

On Monday evening, India’s Ministry of Health confirmed that all passengers transiting through or arriving from UAE, Oman, Kuwait and Qatar would be subject to a mandatory quarantine of a minimum period of 14 days upon their arrival in the country beginning from Wednesday, March 18.

A tweet from the ministry read: “Expanding compulsory quarantine for a minimum period of 14 days for passengers coming from/transiting through UAE, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait. This will come into effect from 1200 GMT on 18th March 2020 at the port of first departure.

It added: “No airline shall board a passenger from these nations to India with effect from 1200 GMT on 18th March 2020. The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure.”

The ministry said that these directives are temporary measures and will remain in effect until March 31, 2020, after which it will be reviewed.

The new travel restrictions extend to countries beyond the GCC too. The ministry said: “Travel of passengers from member countries of the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Turkey and United Kingdom to India is prohibited with effect from 18th March 2020.”

The government added that the decision was made in order to contain the spread of the Covid-19 coronavirus.

Read: People returning to the UAE from these countries must self-isolate for 14 days

On March 11, India suspended all tourist visas until April 15.

Other GCC countries have taken similar measures of restricting travel to their countries in order to contain the virus.

Read: Saudi Arabia suspends all international flights for two weeks

On Sunday, Saudi Arabia began a two-week moratorium on all international flights to and from the kingdom.

Read: Kuwait suspends all flights from March 13, Qatar reports over 230 new coronavirus cases

On Friday, Kuwait began suspending all commercial flights in and out of the country for an indefinite period.

Read: Oman bans entry for all non-Omanis, except GCC citizens

Beginning on Tuesday, March 17, Oman too will be restricting the entry of all non-Omanis into the country, except citizens of GCC states.

You might also like


Scroll To Top