Free parking in Dubai during Hijri New Year holiday

All paid parking zones will be free across the emirate on Thursday

Dubai’s Roads and Transport Authority (RTA) has confirmed that all paid parking zones will be free across the emirate on Thursday on the occasion of Hijri New Year.

Multi-level parking lots will continue to levy charges.

Parking fees across Dubai will be reactivated on Saturday, September 23, the RTA confirmed.

The authority also stated that all its customers happiness centres would remain closed on Thursday.

Metro and tram timings

On Thursday, the metro Red Line stations will operate from 5.30am to 1.00am (of the following day), and the Green Line stations will operate from 5.50am to 1.00am (of the following day).

The Express Metro service will also be available during the holiday.

The Dubai tram will be in service during the holiday from 6.30am to 1.00am (of the following day).

Public buses

The timing of public buses (Dubai Bus) at various stations on Thursday, September 21 will be as follows:

Main bus stations such as Gold Souk will operate from 5.00am to 1.00am (of the following day). Al Ghubaiba Station will be in service from 5.00am to 12.10am (past midnight).

Sub-stations such as Satwa will stay open from 5.00am to 11.35pm except for Route C01, which will operates around-the-clock.

Al Qusais Station will run bus services from 4.30am to 12.00am, Al Quoz Industrial Station will be in operation from 05.00am to 11.30pm, while Jebel Ali Station will operate from 5.00am to 12.00am.

Metro link bus stations at Rashidiya, Mall of the Emirates, Ibn Battuta, Burj Khalifa, Abu Hail, and Etisalat will be in service from 5.00am to 12.20am. All metro feeder routes are synchronised with the metro timetables.

The inter-city bus service will operate as follows:

Al Ghubaiba will remain operating around the clock to Sharjah (Jubail), and the Abu Dhabi service will run from 4.20am up to 1.00am (of the following day).

Substations such as Union Square will be in service from 4.30am up to 1.25am (of the following day). Al Sabkha Station will stay open from 6.15am until 1.30am (of the following day), and Deira City Centre Station from 5.35am until 11.30pm. Karama Station will operate from 6.10am to 10.20pm and Al Ahli Club Station from 5.55am to 10.15pm.

External stations such as Sharjah’s Al Taawun will stay open from 5.30am until 10.00pm, Fujairah Station from 5.23am until 9.30pm, Ajman Station from 4.27am until 11.00pm and Hatta Station from 5.30am until 9.30pm.

Marine transit

The Water Bus will run at Marina Stations (Marina Mall, Marina Walk, Marina Terrace, Marina Promenade) from 12.00pm up to 12.00am.

Dubai Ferry will arrive at Ghubaiba and Marina Stations at 11.00am, 1.00pm, 3.00pm, 5.00pm and 6.30pm. The Ferry will operate from Al Jaddaf Station to Dubai Water Canal Station at 10.00am, 12:00pm and 5.30pm, and from Dubai Water Canal Station to Al Jaddaf Station at 12.05pm, 2.05pm and 7.35 pm.

The Water Taxis will operate from 9.00am until 10.00pm.

The traditional Abra will operate in the Dubai Creek Stations (Ghubaiba, Al Sabkha, Baniyas, and Dubai Old Souk), from 12.00pm until 12.00am, and at Sheikh Zayed Station from 4.00pm until 11.30pm.

The Electric Abra from Downtown station Al Qasr Hotel to Dubai Mall will run from 12.00pm until 11:30pm, at Burj Plaza station from 12.00pm until 11.30pm, and at Al Mamzar from 2.00pm until 12.00am (Thursday, Friday, and Saturday), and at Burj Khalifa station from 6.00pm until 11.30pm.

The air-conditioned abra at Al Jaddaf, Dubai Festival City will operate from 7.00am to 12.00am.