Oman bans chicken imports from five countries

The ban follows recent outbreaks of the bird flu virus

Oman has banned the import of chicken products from five countries.

The Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries decree, issued on Monday, halts imports from the Philippines, Laos, South Africa, Togo and Zimbabwe.

It applies to “live birds, their products, derivatives and waste”.

The announcement comes following the spread of the bird flu virus in the affected countries in July and August.

“This decision shall be based on the recommendation of the competent veterinary authority and until the cause of the ban ceases and a decision is issued,” according to a statement.

Saudi authorities issued a similar ban on poultry from Zimbabwe in July.

Read: Saudi bans import of poultry from Zimbabwe on bird flu fears

The ministry also lifted a similar ban on poultry from Bulgaria and Poland.

This was issued following a bird flu outbreak in some European countries earlier this year.