Gulf Business http://gulfbusiness.com Sat, 18 Apr 2015 05:00:42 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.8.5 BMW Courts Middle East Market For Its Hybrid Line-Up http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/bmw-courts-middle-east-market-hybrid-line/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/bmw-courts-middle-east-market-hybrid-line/#comments Sat, 18 Apr 2015 05:00:42 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67622 The German carmaker thinks that there is a market for hybrid and electric cars in the Middle East, no matter the cost of fuel or the love for SUVs.

The post BMW Courts Middle East Market For Its Hybrid Line-Up appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/bmw-courts-middle-east-market-hybrid-line/feed/ 0
Interview: Herman Miller CEO On Brand’s Ambitions http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/interview-herman-miller-ceo-brands-ambitions/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/interview-herman-miller-ceo-brands-ambitions/#comments Sat, 18 Apr 2015 05:00:21 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67654 Herman Miller chief Brian Walker sits down with Ankush Chibber to talk all things office.

The post Interview: Herman Miller CEO On Brand’s Ambitions appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/interview-herman-miller-ceo-brands-ambitions/feed/ 0
Travel Review: On The Streets Of New York City http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/travel-review-streets-new-york-city/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/travel-review-streets-new-york-city/#comments Sat, 18 Apr 2015 04:45:12 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67642 Kiran Mehta writes about steering off the tourist track and becoming an insider with some of New York’s best-kept secrets.

The post Travel Review: On The Streets Of New York City appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/travel-review-streets-new-york-city/feed/ 0
Some Banks Win, Some Lose In Dubai’s “Islamic Economy” http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/banks-win-lose-dubais-islamic-economy/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/banks-win-lose-dubais-islamic-economy/#comments Sat, 18 Apr 2015 04:20:34 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67616 Dubai is planning to be a centre for an "Islamic economy" with sharia-compliant businesses ranging from banking , trade, food preparation, fashion, education and tourism.

The post Some Banks Win, Some Lose In Dubai’s “Islamic Economy” appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/banks-win-lose-dubais-islamic-economy/feed/ 0
Jumbo Jets Airbus A380, Boeing 747 Face A Make Or Break Year http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/jumbo-jets-airbus-a380-boeing-747-face-make-break-year/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/jumbo-jets-airbus-a380-boeing-747-face-make-break-year/#comments Sat, 18 Apr 2015 04:15:10 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67583 There were zero orders placed by commercial airlines for new Boeing 747s or Airbus A380s last year.

The post Jumbo Jets Airbus A380, Boeing 747 Face A Make Or Break Year appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/jumbo-jets-airbus-a380-boeing-747-face-make-break-year/feed/ 0
How To Rule The World Like… Jan Koum http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/rule-world-like-jan-koum/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/rule-world-like-jan-koum/#comments Sat, 18 Apr 2015 03:49:31 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67588 Jan Koum is the CEO and co-founder of messaging network WhatsApp.

The post How To Rule The World Like… Jan Koum appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/rule-world-like-jan-koum/feed/ 0
Saudi Arabia To Open Stock Market To Foreigners On June 15 http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/saudi-arabia-open-stock-market-foreigners-june-15/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/saudi-arabia-open-stock-market-foreigners-june-15/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 13:29:26 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67665 Final rules covering the opening of the market will be published on May 4.

The post Saudi Arabia To Open Stock Market To Foreigners On June 15 appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/saudi-arabia-open-stock-market-foreigners-june-15/feed/ 0
Dubai’s Ruler Issues New Law On Aviation Safety http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-ruler-issues-new-law-aviation-safety/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-ruler-issues-new-law-aviation-safety/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 12:38:05 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67663 The law regulates the usage of laser, fireworks, light beams and drones in Dubai’s airspace.

The post Dubai’s Ruler Issues New Law On Aviation Safety appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-ruler-issues-new-law-aviation-safety/feed/ 0
Dubai’s Nshama Awards Dhs22m Deal To Al Naboodah For Town Square http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-nshama-awards-dhs22m-deal-al-naboodah-town-square/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-nshama-awards-dhs22m-deal-al-naboodah-town-square/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 11:58:54 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67659 Al Naboodah will carry out the complete earthwork grading for the 31 million sq ft project.

The post Dubai’s Nshama Awards Dhs22m Deal To Al Naboodah For Town Square appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-nshama-awards-dhs22m-deal-al-naboodah-town-square/feed/ 0
Emirates Launches Second Daily A380 To London Gatwick http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/emirates-launches-second-daily-a380-london-gatwick/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/emirates-launches-second-daily-a380-london-gatwick/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 11:41:37 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67644 Capacity rise on key London route coincides with arrival of its 60th A380 aircraft

The post Emirates Launches Second Daily A380 To London Gatwick appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/emirates-launches-second-daily-a380-london-gatwick/feed/ 0
ADNOC To Start Monthly Oil Product Deliveries To Egypt Next Week http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/adnoc-start-monthly-oil-product-deliveries-egypt-next-week/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/adnoc-start-monthly-oil-product-deliveries-egypt-next-week/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 11:10:19 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67628 The Egyptian government had said state-owned EGPC will buy 65 per cent of its oil product import needs from ADNOC in 2015.

The post ADNOC To Start Monthly Oil Product Deliveries To Egypt Next Week appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/adnoc-start-monthly-oil-product-deliveries-egypt-next-week/feed/ 0
Brent Crude Oil Hits 2015 High As US Output Slows http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/brent-crude-oil-hits-2015-high-us-output-slows/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/brent-crude-oil-hits-2015-high-us-output-slows/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 11:06:05 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67629 Brent crude touched a 2015 high of above $63 per barrel on Thursday.

The post Brent Crude Oil Hits 2015 High As US Output Slows appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/brent-crude-oil-hits-2015-high-us-output-slows/feed/ 0
Dubai’s Landmark Aims To Double Online Sales, Plans Major Expansion http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-landmark-aims-double-online-sales-plans-major-expansion/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-landmark-aims-double-online-sales-plans-major-expansion/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 11:01:16 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67623 LandmarkShops.com recorded a 200 per cent year-on-year growth in revenue for the fiscal year 2014-2015.

The post Dubai’s Landmark Aims To Double Online Sales, Plans Major Expansion appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-landmark-aims-double-online-sales-plans-major-expansion/feed/ 0
Almost 75% Of GCC Women Say Not Treated Equally At Work- Survey http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/almost-75-gcc-women-say-treated-equally-work-survey/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/almost-75-gcc-women-say-treated-equally-work-survey/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 10:48:23 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67620 A new study reveals that majority of women in the GCC feel disadvantaged at work due to prevalent gender inequality.

The post Almost 75% Of GCC Women Say Not Treated Equally At Work- Survey appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/almost-75-gcc-women-say-treated-equally-work-survey/feed/ 0
Yemeni VP Hopes Arab Coalition Will Not Deploy Ground Forces http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/new-yemeni-vp-says-hopes-will-arab-ground-campaign/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/new-yemeni-vp-says-hopes-will-arab-ground-campaign/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 10:29:07 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67612 Bahah also called on the armed forces to support the "legitimate" government in exile.

The post Yemeni VP Hopes Arab Coalition Will Not Deploy Ground Forces appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/new-yemeni-vp-says-hopes-will-arab-ground-campaign/feed/ 0
Speculation Over Saudi-India Oil Deal As Talks Drag On http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/speculation-saudi-india-oil-deal-talks-drag/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/speculation-saudi-india-oil-deal-talks-drag/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 09:54:12 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67610 Saudi Aramco and India's Reliance Industries have not yet concluded a term contract to import diesel and gasoline.

The post Speculation Over Saudi-India Oil Deal As Talks Drag On appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/speculation-saudi-india-oil-deal-talks-drag/feed/ 0
Dubai’s RTA Begins Work On Dhs32m Cycling Track http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-rta-begins-work-dhs32m-cycling-track/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-rta-begins-work-dhs32m-cycling-track/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 08:17:11 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67606 The new track will connect the existing cycling path at Seih Assalam to Mohammed bin Zayed Road and onwards to Nad Al Sheba.

The post Dubai’s RTA Begins Work On Dhs32m Cycling Track appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-rta-begins-work-dhs32m-cycling-track/feed/ 0
Oman’s Islamic Deposits Surge, Adding Pressure On Liquidity Tools http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/omans-islamic-deposits-surge-adding-pressure-liquidity-tools/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/omans-islamic-deposits-surge-adding-pressure-liquidity-tools/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 07:14:02 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67604 Combined customer deposits at the two full-fledged Islamic banks and Bank Muscat almost tripled in the year to March.

The post Oman’s Islamic Deposits Surge, Adding Pressure On Liquidity Tools appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/omans-islamic-deposits-surge-adding-pressure-liquidity-tools/feed/ 0
Saudi Kayan Swings To Q1 Net Loss As Shutdown Hits Production http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/saudi-kayan-swings-q1-net-loss-shutdown-hits-production/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/saudi-kayan-swings-q1-net-loss-shutdown-hits-production/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 06:23:17 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67598 Saudi Kayan made a net loss of SAR591.6 million ($157.8 million) in the first quarter of 2015.

The post Saudi Kayan Swings To Q1 Net Loss As Shutdown Hits Production appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/saudi-kayan-swings-q1-net-loss-shutdown-hits-production/feed/ 0
Dubai’s Emaar Reelects Mohammed Alabbar, Eyes Bumper 2015 Profit http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-emaar-reelects-mohammed-alabbar-chairman/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-emaar-reelects-mohammed-alabbar-chairman/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 05:43:44 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=67584 The listed developer also projected a higher profit forecast for this year and approved a cash dividend worth Dhs1.07 billion.

The post Dubai’s Emaar Reelects Mohammed Alabbar, Eyes Bumper 2015 Profit appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2015/04/dubais-emaar-reelects-mohammed-alabbar-chairman/feed/ 0