Gulf Business http://gulfbusiness.com Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:36:29 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.8.3 Fire Reported In Dubai’s Ravi Restaurant http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/fire-reported-dubais-ravi-restaurant/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/fire-reported-dubais-ravi-restaurant/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:12:25 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44814 No details so far on what caused the blaze.

The post Fire Reported In Dubai’s Ravi Restaurant appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/fire-reported-dubais-ravi-restaurant/feed/ 0
Coca-Cola Sales Beat Estimates As China Volumes Soar http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/coca-cola-sales-beat-estimates-china-volumes-soar/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/coca-cola-sales-beat-estimates-china-volumes-soar/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 13:13:18 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44810 Global case volumes rose two per cent in the quarter while those in China rose 12 per cent, the company said.

The post Coca-Cola Sales Beat Estimates As China Volumes Soar appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/coca-cola-sales-beat-estimates-china-volumes-soar/feed/ 0
BlackBerry Buys Minority Stake In Healthcare IT Firm http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/blackberry-buys-minority-stake-healthcare-firm/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/blackberry-buys-minority-stake-healthcare-firm/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 13:08:26 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44808 The smartphone maker has been targeting various niche markets as it attempts to engineer a turnaround and stem losses.

The post BlackBerry Buys Minority Stake In Healthcare IT Firm appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/blackberry-buys-minority-stake-healthcare-firm/feed/ 0
Oman Extends Recruitment Ban On Expat Maids And Labourers http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/oman-extends-recruitment-ban-expat-maids-labourers/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/oman-extends-recruitment-ban-expat-maids-labourers/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:00:50 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44801 The extended ban, issued by the Ministry of Manpower, will come into effect from May 4 this year.

The post Oman Extends Recruitment Ban On Expat Maids And Labourers appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/oman-extends-recruitment-ban-expat-maids-labourers/feed/ 0
Air Arabia To Begin Services From Ras Al Khaimah On May 6 http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/air-arabia-begin-services-ras-al-khaimah-may-6/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/air-arabia-begin-services-ras-al-khaimah-may-6/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:25:07 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44791 The Sharjah-based low-cost carrier has been designated the new airline of Ras Al Khaimah following the closure of RAK Airways.

The post Air Arabia To Begin Services From Ras Al Khaimah On May 6 appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/air-arabia-begin-services-ras-al-khaimah-may-6/feed/ 0
Dubai’s Takaful Emarat Expects To Post Q1 Profit http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubais-takaful-emarat-expects-post-q1-profit/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubais-takaful-emarat-expects-post-q1-profit/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:11:11 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44789 The company's past financial statements show it last reported a quarterly profit in the first quarter of 2009.

The post Dubai’s Takaful Emarat Expects To Post Q1 Profit appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubais-takaful-emarat-expects-post-q1-profit/feed/ 0
Kuwait To Award $4.3bn Contract This Year For Heavy Oil Project http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/kuwait-award-4-3bn-contract-year-heavy-oil-project/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/kuwait-award-4-3bn-contract-year-heavy-oil-project/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:05:25 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44787 The deadline for bids for the engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) contract is May 11, a senior executive said.

The post Kuwait To Award $4.3bn Contract This Year For Heavy Oil Project appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/kuwait-award-4-3bn-contract-year-heavy-oil-project/feed/ 0
Biotech: Boom Or Bubble? http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/biotech-boom-bubble/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/biotech-boom-bubble/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 08:59:48 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44777 There’s been a renaissance in research and development productivity in biotech, writes Evan McCulloch, vice president portfolio manager/research analyst at Franklin Equity Group.

The post Biotech: Boom Or Bubble? appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/biotech-boom-bubble/feed/ 0
Etihad’s Revenues Surge 27% In Q1 2014 http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/etihads-revenues-surge-27-q1-2014/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/etihads-revenues-surge-27-q1-2014/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 08:06:57 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44775 The airline’s growth in revenue was aided by an increase in passengers resulting from its codeshare and equity partnerships.

The post Etihad’s Revenues Surge 27% In Q1 2014 appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/etihads-revenues-surge-27-q1-2014/feed/ 0
Dubai’s IMG Theme Park Gets $327m Islamic Loan http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubais-img-theme-park-gets-327m-islamic-loan/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubais-img-theme-park-gets-327m-islamic-loan/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 06:50:51 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44770 Proceeds will be used to expand the $1 billion Worlds of Adventure theme park.

The post Dubai’s IMG Theme Park Gets $327m Islamic Loan appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubais-img-theme-park-gets-327m-islamic-loan/feed/ 0
Saudi Warns Imams Against Talking Politics In Mosques http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-warns-imams-talking-politics-mosques/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-warns-imams-talking-politics-mosques/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 06:20:02 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44766 Religious clerics found preaching about politics during their Friday sermons could lose their jobs, the ministry said.

The post Saudi Warns Imams Against Talking Politics In Mosques appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-warns-imams-talking-politics-mosques/feed/ 0
Saudi Samba Financial Group Q1 Profit Up 7% http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-samba-financial-group-q1-profit-7/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-samba-financial-group-q1-profit-7/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 06:03:34 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44763 The bank attributed the profit rise to a drop in operating expenses.

The post Saudi Samba Financial Group Q1 Profit Up 7% appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-samba-financial-group-q1-profit-7/feed/ 0
Exclusive: Dubai Not Building Any Hotels For The Expo – Tourism Chief http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/exclusive-dubai-building-hotels-expo-tourism-chief/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/exclusive-dubai-building-hotels-expo-tourism-chief/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 05:39:50 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44757 The current hotel supply pipeline is only linked to the emirate’s 2020 tourism strategy, says Helal Al Marri, the head of Dubai’s DTCM.

The post Exclusive: Dubai Not Building Any Hotels For The Expo – Tourism Chief appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/exclusive-dubai-building-hotels-expo-tourism-chief/feed/ 0
Google Unveils Email Scanning Practices In New Terms Of Service http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/google-unveils-email-scanning-practices-new-terms-service/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/google-unveils-email-scanning-practices-new-terms-service/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 04:28:15 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44755 The company clearly stated that incoming and outgoing emails are automatically analysed by software to create targeted ads.

The post Google Unveils Email Scanning Practices In New Terms Of Service appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/google-unveils-email-scanning-practices-new-terms-service/feed/ 0
Saudi Cement Co Q1 Profit Falls 16% As Demand Sags http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-cement-co-q1-profit-falls-16-demand-sags/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-cement-co-q1-profit-falls-16-demand-sags/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 04:24:33 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44752 The firm made a profit of $76.3 million in the three months to March 31.

The post Saudi Cement Co Q1 Profit Falls 16% As Demand Sags appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-cement-co-q1-profit-falls-16-demand-sags/feed/ 0
Saudi Arabia Imposes Fines, Jail Terms For Visa Lapses http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-arabia-imposes-fines-jail-terms-visa-lapses/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-arabia-imposes-fines-jail-terms-visa-lapses/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 04:13:32 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44750 Police raids and an amnesty on fines for immigration violations last year caused over a million foreigners to leave voluntarily.

The post Saudi Arabia Imposes Fines, Jail Terms For Visa Lapses appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-arabia-imposes-fines-jail-terms-visa-lapses/feed/ 0
Dubai On The Fast-Track To Develop Smart Transportation http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubai-fast-track-develop-smart-transportation/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubai-fast-track-develop-smart-transportation/#comments Tue, 15 Apr 2014 03:58:37 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44653 Driverless electric cars will soon hit UAE roads, writes Hisham Surakhi, managing director, Gemalto Middle East.

The post Dubai On The Fast-Track To Develop Smart Transportation appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/dubai-fast-track-develop-smart-transportation/feed/ 0
Saudi Miner Ma’aden Q1 Profit Falls 48% As Metal Prices Drop http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-miner-maaden-q1-profit-falls-48-metal-prices-drop/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-miner-maaden-q1-profit-falls-48-metal-prices-drop/#comments Mon, 14 Apr 2014 13:57:34 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44747 Ma'aden made a profit of 125.2 million riyals ($33.4 million) in the three months to March 31.

The post Saudi Miner Ma’aden Q1 Profit Falls 48% As Metal Prices Drop appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/saudi-miner-maaden-q1-profit-falls-48-metal-prices-drop/feed/ 0
Infiniti Middle East Sales Up 19% In 2013 http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/infiniti-middle-east-sales-19-2013/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/infiniti-middle-east-sales-19-2013/#comments Mon, 14 Apr 2014 12:20:10 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44742 The Japanese car maker sold around 5,892 units in the region during its financial year ended March 2014.

The post Infiniti Middle East Sales Up 19% In 2013 appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/infiniti-middle-east-sales-19-2013/feed/ 0
UAE Authorities Assert MERS Not A Public Health Concern http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/uae-authorities-assert-mers-public-health-concern/ http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/uae-authorities-assert-mers-public-health-concern/#comments Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:39:03 +0000 http://gulfbusiness.com/?p=44739 One person died from MERS and five others have been infected with the disease in the Emirates, it was reported last week.

The post UAE Authorities Assert MERS Not A Public Health Concern appeared first on Gulf Business.

]]>
http://gulfbusiness.com/2014/04/uae-authorities-assert-mers-public-health-concern/feed/ 0